Gov. Phil Scott stresses the need to address Vermont’s shrinking workforce during a talk at the Rotary Club of Essex in 2019. 

MONTPELIER — Gov. Phil Scott was appointed today by President Biden to the President’s Council of Governors for a two-year term.

The bipartisan council brings together federal and state leaders to better protect the U.S. from threats to homeland security and other hazards.

Established by Section 1822 of the National Defense Authorization Act of 2008, the Council of Governors was implemented by Presidential Executive Order 13528 in 2010. It includes up to 10 governors who work with federal officials to address issues relating to national security, homeland defense, disaster preparedness and response and the National Guard.

In a statement Thursday, Scott said it is on honor to be selected for the council. 

“President Biden has frequently noted that good government requires listening to and learning from all perspectives, considering all ideas, seeking consensus wherever possible and compromising when necessary to move America forward. Nowhere is this approach more important than when it comes to matters of national security or disaster preparedness, response and recovery," Scott stated.

“As a public servant, I have always prioritized good government over party politics, and this is the perspective I will bring to this appointment. It is truly an honor to serve on the Council.

“I want to thank President Biden for appointing me, and I look forward to working with his Administration and the other governors to demonstrate that bipartisan leadership can work and help bring our deeply polarized country together to unite around our shared values and goals.”

In addition to Gov. Scott, the President’s Council of Governors includes:

  • Ohio Governor Mike DeWine, Co-Chair

  • Minnesota Governor Tim Walz, Co-Chair

  • Delaware Governor John Carney

  • Louisiana Governor John Bel Edwards

  • Michigan Governor Gretchen Whitmer

  • Oregon Governor Kate Brown

  • Utah Governor Spencer Cox

  • Wyoming Governor Mark Gordon

The nine newly-appointed governors join Tennessee Governor Bill Lee, whose term expires in 2022.

The Council of Governors will closely coordinate with the Biden-Harris Administration to bolster preparedness, resilience and response on behalf of all Americans in times of need, according to a White House press release. 

Written By

Staff Writer

Bridget Higdon is a Staff Writer. She was previously the editor-in-chief of The Vermont Cynic, UVM's independent newspaper. She’s been published in Seven Days, Editor & Publisher and Vermont Vacation Guide. She likes to cook and explore Vermont by bike.


(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Thank you for taking part in our commenting section. We want this platform to be a safe and inclusive community where you can freely share ideas and opinions. Comments that are racist, hateful, sexist or attack others won’t be allowed. Just keep it clean. Do these things or you could be banned:

• Don’t name-call and attack other commenters. If you’d be in hot water for saying it in public, then don’t say it here.

• Don’t spam us.

• Don’t attack our journalists.

Let’s make this a platform that is educational, enjoyable and insightful.

Email questions to

Share your opinion


Join the conversation

Recommended for you