About


Staff

Courtney Lamdin
Editor & Reporter
courtney@miltonindependent.com

Abby Ledoux
Production & Reporter
abby@miltonindependent.com

George Berno
Advertising Representative
george@samessenger.com

Lynne Gott
Advertising Representative
lynne@samessenger.com

Gail Wells
Classifieds & Legals
gail@samessenger.com

Kim Aher
Classifieds & Legals
kim@samessenger.com

Advertise with Us

Every Thursday, the Milton
Independent delivers local and
regional news, school news and
events, local sports, a community
calender and features on local
personalities to more than 5,500 homes
and businesses. Learn more.

Contact Us

You can contact us with our contact form.

The Milton Independent is a weekly community newspaper serving the towns of Milton and Georgia, Vt.

Our History

The Independent was first published in February 1993 by editor emeritus and Milton resident Lynn Delaney. After a long career journalism — starting at NBC in New York — Delaney settled in Milton, where she worked for Milton Matters, a monthly newsletter written by volunteers, some of whom were local selectboard members. The officials soon wanted to review articles before publication. By any other name, this was censorship, so Delaney walked, catching the attention of St. Albans Messenger Editor/Publisher Emerson Lynn, who offered to back Delaney’s new venture. Today, that paper is the Milton Independent, still owned and printed by the Messenger.

Our Paper

The Milton Independent specializes in coverage of school and town news, events and local personalities. The paper is mailed to every Milton resident (except those with post office boxes), as well as many homes in Georgia. It can also be found at more than 20 locations in both towns. Pick up a copy today!

The Milton Independent is part of the Champlain Valley Newspaper Group, which includes the St. Albans Messenger, Colchester Sun, Essex Reporter and Addison Independent. Contact us today to advertise in these family-owned, community newspapers.